View Your Wish List


Item added to your basket.

XY Chelsea – Original Soundtrack
Jehnny Beth / Johnny Hostile
XY Chelsea – Original Soundtrack
Pop Noire
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 2019
Gift This Product …
Read More

Original Soundtrack for the Showtime produced movie based on the history of the whistleblower Chelsea Manning.

Composed by Jehnny Beth & Johnny Hostile (singer and producer of post-punk band Savages).

In 2018, director Tim Hawkins contacts Jehnny Beth and her life-long collaborator Johnny Hostile to ask if they would like to write the entire score for his new documentary about Chelsea Manning. For Hostile and Beth, this is an opportunity they have been preparing for. Hours of practicing instrumental compositions in Johnny Hostile’s Pop Noire studio could finally be put to great use. May 2018 and the pair starts working relentlessly until the end of summer.

The relationship with Hawkins is fluid and easy. Same generation, same references, the director gives total freedom of interpretation to the musicians while offering a constructive frame of work to allow efficiency. Hawkins even admits to have lengthen his last scene in response to the enchanting piano track written by Johnny Hostile for the film’s ending.

Manning’s portrait by Hawkins reveals the character’s humanity, her flaws, her doubts and her triumphs. Hostile and Beth have spent months looking at Manning on screen hit extreme high and low points while they try to transcribe as faithfully as they can all her emotions into sounds. The avoidance of manichean stands and predictable clichés in the film inspire the duo to write music with nuances, concentrating on deciphering the mysterious persona of one of the most important historical figures of our time.

Read More
  1. 1 Intro 2:00 Jehnny Beth / Johnny Hostile
  2. 2 Phone Call 0:48 Jehnny Beth / Johnny Hostile
  3. 3 Communication/Obama 1:06 Jehnny Beth / Johnny Hostile
  4. 4 Prison Break 2:00 Jehnny Beth / Johnny Hostile
  1. Intro (2:49)*
  2. Phone Call (1:06)*
  3. Communication/Obama (1:27)*
  4. Prison Break (2:39)*
  5. Flying Out Of Kansas (1:44)*
  6. It Took A Miracle (2:23)*
  7. Enlistment (2:36)*
  8. Coming Out Trans (1:34)*
  9. Flashback (2:56)*
  10. It Might Actually Change Something (2:56)*
  11. Court Sentence (1:42)*
  12. New York (1:21)*
  13. Intelligent Analyst (1:36)*
  14. Lisa’s Theme (1:12)*
  15. Haunted (2:29)*
  16. Icon (1:21)*
  17. War Requiem (3:01)*
  18. Mother’s Theme (1:26)*
  19. Coming Of Age (0:57)*
  20. Trauma (2:46)*
  21. New Administration (1:20)*
  22. Fighting Back (2:02)*
  23. Running For Senate (0:58)*
  24. Alt Right (3:31)*
  25. Night Drive (5:12) **
  26. Let It Out Ft. Jehnny Beth (3:34)*
Read More


View More Soundtracks
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.