Item added to your cart.

Dennis Young
Primitive Substance
Athens Of The North
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 24, 2019


The back catalogue of ex-Liquid Liquid percussionist and marimba player Dennis Young is indelibly worth the multiple reissues cropping up over 30 years after their recording — especially in the case of 1985’s Primitive Substance. It’s as if Young was constantly thinking of the past (the drum circle dance of ‘Safari Western’) as well as the future (the new wave primitivism of ‘Somerset Hill’). Pairs well with Talking Heads at their percussive best.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Primitive Substance Dennis Young 5:10 Buy
  2. 2 Berlin Dennis Young 5:55 Buy
  3. 3 Safari Western Dennis Young 2:59 Buy
  4. 4 Somerset Hill Dennis Young 4:26 Buy
  5. 5 Big Mouth Dennis Young 4:19 Buy
  6. 6 Tarzan Meets Jane Dennis Young 5:55 Buy
  7. 7 Feels Good Dennis Young 4:11 Buy
  8. 8 Forgiveness Dennis Young 3:44 Buy
  9. 9 Montezuma Dennis Young 4:36 Buy
  10. 10 Journey to Ixtlan Dennis Young 4:23 Buy
  11. 11 You Turn Me On Dennis Young 4:15 Buy
  12. 12 Volcano Cathedral Dennis Young 5:51 Buy

Dennis Young

Athens Of The North

View More


View More


View More

Soul, Funk and RnB

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences