Item added to your basket:

Holly Herndon
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 2019
Gift This Product

Instant download of the following tracks with all FLAC, WAV, MP3 pre-orders:

  • 'Eternal'
  • 'Godmother'

Full release delivered on release date: 10.05.19

Since her early releases on RVNG Intl and Infinite Greyscale, Holly Herndon has been exploring the outer limits of electronic music and Avant-Garde pop, creating an otherworldly universe that is distinctly her own.

Her fascination with the human voice, has always been at the centre of her work, using it as a sonic instrument to be chopped and screwed, dissecting it on the surgery table, isolating all the sonic details and restitching it back together to create something from a parallel universe.

Following on from her incredible album on Platform on 4AD, this exploration of the human voice really takes centre stage in PROTO, where she has constructed a collaborative space for an ensemble of vocalists, a team of developers along with her longtime collaborator Mathew Dryhurst and an inhuman intelligence Spawn—a nascent A.I. entity housed in a gaming PC. Coming together, they have constructed a record of live vocal processing, that traverses the rich history of folk singing, alongside a communion between humans and technology, creating a record that embraces the alchemy between man and machine.

“There’s a pervasive narrative of technology as dehumanizing,” says Holly. “We stand in contrast to that. It’s not like we want to run away; we’re very much running towards it, but on our terms. Choosing to work with an ensemble of humans is part of our protocol. I don’t want to live in a world in which humans are automated off stage. I want an A.I. to be raised to appreciate and interact with that beauty ”

Read More

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

  1. 1 Birth 1:14 Holly Herndon
  2. 2 Alienation 3:43 Holly Herndon
  3. 3 Canaan (Live Training) 1:36 Holly Herndon
  4. 4 Eternal 4:45 Holly Herndon Buy
  5. 5 Crawler 5:57 Holly Herndon
  6. 6 Extreme Love 2:34 Holly Herndon with Lily Anna Haynes and Jenna Sutela
  7. 7 Frontier 4:29 Holly Herndon
  8. 8 Fear, Uncertainty, Doubt 3:11 Holly Herndon
  9. 9 SWIM 4:38 Holly Herndon
  10. 10 Evening Shades (Live Training) 1:33 Holly Herndon
  11. 11 Bridge 2:48 Holly Herndon with Martine Syms
  12. 12 Godmother 2:30 Holly Herndon and Jlin feat. Spawn Buy
  13. 13 Last Gasp 5:09 Holly Herndon

Holly Herndon


View More 4AD
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.