Item added to your basket.

  • Vinyl

    • + MP3
    • + Poster
    • Black vinyl
    • Full colour printed inner with lyrics
    • Full colour printed outer sleeve with 3mm spine sleeve
    • Download card

    In stock, shipping now.

  • CD

    • + MP3

    CD in jewel case with full colour printed tray and 4 panel lyric booklet, retail sticker on overwrap.

    In stock, shipping now.

Gift This Product

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.

Even at the ripe old age of 83, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry shows no signs of slowing down. The Upsetter continues to average over an LP a year, and recent times have seen the dub legend make music with everyone from The Orb to Mad Professor.

Perry’s latest album Rainford is another collaborative affair. This set finds Perry teaming up once again with his old friend Adrian Sherwood. The pair’s relationship dates back to the 80’s, and as such it’s no surprise to find that Rainford is a record with a friendly, easy atmosphere to it. Tunes tend to stay on the sunny side even when confronting heavy subject matter, and the melodies come easy throughout.

The playful feel extends to Perry’s own performances. Opener ‘Cricket On The Moon’ is a prime example of his whimsical approach to Rainford - some scratch guitars and huge thwacks of snare provide a solid base for Perry’s carefree musing. Indeed, Perry’s rampant creative mind remains a fascinating focal point across the LP, with his imagination taking us to all manner of places.

Sherwood’s production really freshens up The Upsetter’s style here. Rather than stewing in reverb and delay, Sherwood’s more refined techniques give Rainford a crisp and propulsive feel. This works particularly well when the record moves beyond the usual remit of a dub album - the dancehall influenced ‘Let It Rain’, for instance.

Rainford is yet another feather in the cap of dub’s most distinguished ambassador.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Cricket on the Moon 4:34 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy
  2. 2 Run Evil Spirit 4:23 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy
  3. 3 Let It Rain 3:44 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy
  4. 4 House Of Angels 3:55 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy
  5. 5 Makumba Rock 5:28 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy
  6. 6 African Starship 4:06 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy
  7. 7 Kill Them Dreams Money Worshippers 4:44 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy
  8. 8 Children Of The Light 4:19 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy
  9. 9 Autobiography Of The Upsetter 7:16 Lee "Scratch" Perry Buy

Lee "Scratch" Perry

Lee "Scratch" Perry Merchandise

On-U Sound

View More

Dub, Reggae and Dancehall

View More


View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.