Item added to your cart.

The Matthew Herbert Big Band
The State Between Us
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 29, 2019


The Matthew Herbert Big Band’s first LP in over a decade has been gestating ever since the UK voted to leave the European Union back in 2016. An examination of the state of play in Brexit Britain, The State Between Us is an extraordinary record. The sheer scale of this thing is simply amazing - over one thousand musicians feature on The State Between Us. The sound artefacts here range from a factory being demolished to a field recording of someone walking the length of the Northern Irish/Irish border, and lyrics draw from the poetry of John Donne, speeches made by the secretary of UKIP and plenty in between. The State Between Us might go down as the first great post-Brexit album - that is, if we end up leaving...

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 A Devotion Upon Emergent Occasions 4:29 Buy

    A Devotion Upon Emergent Occasions

  2. 2 Fiesta 5:25 Buy
  3. 3 You're Welcome Here 10:40 Buy

    You're Welcome Here

  4. 4 Run It Down 6:38 Buy
  5. 5 The Tower 7:40 Buy
  6. 6 An A-Z of Endangered Animals 3:45 Buy

    An A-Z of Endangered Animals

  7. 7 Reisezehrung 7:23 Buy
  8. 8 Moonlight Serenade 8:21 Buy

    Moonlight Serenade

  9. 9 Be Still 8:22 Buy
  10. 10 The Words 3:27 Buy
Show All Tracks 16

The Matthew Herbert Big Band


View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences