Item added to your cart.

Plastic Anniversary
Plastic Anniversary
Thrill Jockey
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 2019
Gift This Product

The meaning of the title of the new Matmos record is two-fold. The first Plastic Anniversary was when the duo of Drew Daniel and M. C. Schmidt celebrated twenty years of making music together back in 2015. As for the second one? Well, that’ll be down to the fact that the sounds on this LP have been produced entirely from plastic. Sampling everything from police riot shields to styrofoam coolers, bubble-wrap to synthetic fat (yuck), the pair have again managed to produce a set of pioneering electronic music from the most unusual of means. Sonically Plastic Anniversary veers closest to Mouse On Mars and early Sophie, but really there is no-one out there like Matmos. Never change, guys.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Breaking Bread Matmos 5:02 Buy
  2. 2 The Crying Pill Matmos 4:21 Buy
  3. 3 Interior With Billiard Balls & Synthetic Fat Matmos 2:27 Buy
  4. 4 Extending The Plastisphere To GJ237b Matmos 4:24 Buy
  5. 5 Silicone Gel Implant Matmos 4:12 Buy
  6. 6 Plastic Anniversary Matmos 0:10 Buy
  7. 7 Thermoplastic Riot Shield Matmos 4:31 Buy
  8. 8 Fanfare For Polyethylene Waste Containers Matmos 4:06 Buy
  9. 9 The Singing Tube Matmos 4:05 Buy
  10. 10 Collapse Of The Fourth Kingdom Matmos 4:00 Buy
  11. 11 Plastisphere Matmos 2:59 Buy


Thrill Jockey

Electronic and Electronica

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.