Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Kankyō Ongaku: Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980-1990
Light In The Attic
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 15, 2019
  • Bundle, Book + 2×CD

    Read More


    Released: July 10, 2020

  • Box Set, 3×LP


    Clear vinyl

    Read More


    • Housed in deluxe Stoughton “tip-on” jackets and slipcase
    • Includes extensive liner notes and artist bios & essay by Spencer Doran
    • 'Limited edition colour wax' sticker

    Released: February 26, 2019
    In stock, shipping now.


In recent times Light In The Attic has been at the forefront of resurgent interest in out-of-print Japanese music - a run of Haruomi Hosono editions springs to mind - but even by their standards Kankyō Ongaku is quite the record. Due to the convergent factors of a booming economy, an interest in the incidental compositions of artists like Brian Eno and the growth of cosmopolitan city living, Japan in the 1980s saw a rapid rise in the demand for ‘environmental music’ (Kankyō Ongaku). Soon artists as prestigious as Hosono and his Yellow Magic Orchestra were coming up with sounds for advertisements, in-store playlists and home atmospheres. Compiled by Visible Cloaks’ Spencer Doran, Kankyō Ongaku: Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980-1990 provides a meticulously-cultivated overview of this quiet revolution.

  1. 1 Satoshi Ashikawa - "Still Space" Do Not Use 0:30
  2. 2 Yoshio Ojima - "Glass Chattering" Do Not Use 0:30
  3. 3 Hideki Matsutake - "Nemureru Yoru" (Karaoke version) Do Not Use 0:30
  4. 4 Joe Hisaishi - "Islander" Do Not Use 0:30
  5. 5 Yoshiaki Ochi - "Ear Dreamin'" Do Not Use 0:30
  6. 6 Masashi Kitamura + Phonogenix - "Variation III" Do Not Use 0:30
  7. 7 Interior - "Park" Do Not Use 0:30
  8. 8 Yoichiro Yoshikawa - "Nube" Do Not Use 0:30
  9. 9 Yoshio Suzuki - "Meet Me In The Sheep Meadow" Do Not Use 0:30
  10. 10 Toshi Tsuchitori - "Ishiura (Abridged)" Do Not Use 0:30
Show All Tracks 25

Light In The Attic

View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences