Item added to your basket.

  • Bundle, 4×LP

    • Standard edition
    • Music for Films 1xLP
    • Discreet Music 1xLP
    • Ambient 4: On Land 1xLP
    • Ambient 1: Music For Airports 1xLP

  • Bundle, 4×LP

    • Limited edition
    • Gatefold sleeve
    • Half-speed master
    • Music for Films 2xLP
    • Discreet Music 2xLP
    • Ambient 4: On Land 2xLP
    • Ambient 1: Music For Airports 2xLP

Gift This Product

UMC/Virgin present deluxe reissues of Brian Eno's pioneering ambient albums Discreet Music, Music For Films, Ambient 1 (Music For Airports) and Ambient 4 (On Land).

Discreet Music was influenced by the "furniture music" concept devised by Erik Satie. Discreet Music was created to play in, and blend with, the subtle background audio of various, or any given, situation. Arguably the first true 'ambient' album and one that's influence and textures will still resonate with you long after the music has reached its conclusion.

Music For Films is a loose compilation of material recorded over a three year period between 1975 and 1978, each of its tracks was a snapshot of the long, sprawling ambient pieces he would later become known for. Music For Films is also notable for featuring a range of compositional styles and equipment that Eno also carried over onto his work on David Bowie's 1977 album Low.

Ambient 1 - Music For Airports was created with the intent of defusing the tense, anxious atmosphere of an airport terminal with its endlessly spooling tape loops. An incredibly atmospheric exercise in minimalism and a perfect antidote to release the tensions of terminal boredom due to delayed flights.

Ambient 4: On Land is a mixture of synthesizer-based notes and nature/animal recordings. By far one of the darkest recordings within the Ambient series, Eno quotes: "On the whole, On Land is quite a disturbed landscape: some of the undertones deliberately threaten the overtones, so you get the pastoral prettiness on top, but underneath there's a dissonance that's like an impending earthquake".

Each album has been remastered at half-speed at Abbey Road Studios and is presented as a heavyweight 45 rpm double vinyl edition, housed in a deluxe limited edition gatefold sleeve.

Read More
  1. 1 M386 Brian Eno 1:00
  2. 2 Aragon Brian Eno 1:00
  3. 3 From The Same Hill Brian Eno 1:00
  4. 4 Inland Sea Brian Eno 1:00
  5. 5 Two Rapid Formations Brian Eno 1:00
  6. 6 Slow Water Brian Eno 1:00
  7. 7 Sparrowfall 1 Brian Eno 1:00
  8. 8 Sparrowfall 2 Brian Eno 1:00
  9. 9 Sparrowfall 3 Brian Eno 1:00
  10. 10 Quartz Brian Eno 1:00
Show All 35 Tracks

Brian Eno


Ambient and Modern Classical



Vinyl Reissue

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.