Item added to your basket.

1 Time Mirage
Knife Knights
1 Time Mirage
Sub Pop
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 2018
Gift This Product

First Digable Planets, then Shabazz Palaces, and now Knife Knights. Ishmael Butler’s latest project sees him team up with producer/composer Erik Blood for an LP of deep-fried psych-rap. 1 Time Mirage builds on the Funkadelic-style freakiness of the pair of LPs Shabazz Palaces released in 2017. Tracks like ‘Low Key’ and ‘My Dreams Never Sleep’ are lurching anti-rap tunes where the bad-trip instrumentals set Butler up nicely for a series of potent free-form lyrical vignettes. Even when the pair turn the stylistical dial towards hip-house (‘Can’t Draw The Line’) and neo-soul (‘Come On Let’s Go’) the record maintains an air of ghoulish strangeness. Imagine the more hallucinatory moments of Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly if they’d gone even deeper down the rabbit hole.

Read More
  1. 1 Bionic Chords 2:35 Knife Knights feat. OC Notes & Darrius Willrich
  2. 2 Drag Race Legend 3:15 Knife Knights
  3. 3 Give You Game 2:56 Knife Knights feat. Marquetta Miller & Stas Thee Boss
  4. 4 Light Up Ahead (Time Mirage) 4:08 Knife Knights feat. Porter Ray & Gerald Turner & Darrius Willrich & OC Notes & Shabazz Palaces
  5. 5 Seven Wheel Motion 3:08 Knife Knights
  6. 6 Low Key 2:47 Knife Knights feat. Shabazz Palaces
  7. 7 My Dreams Never Sleep 4:24 Knife Knights feat. OC Notes & Marquetta Miller & Shabazz Palaces
  8. 8 Light Work 0:43 Knife Knights feat. El Mizell
  9. 9 Can't Draw the Line 2:59 Knife Knights feat. OC Notes
  10. 10 Come On Let's Go 2:32 Knife Knights feat. OC Notes & Marquetta Miller
  11. 11 Mr. President 3:07 Knife Knights

Sub Pop

View More

Hip Hop

View More


View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.