Item added to your cart.

Without Mercy
The Durutti Column
Without Mercy
Factory Benelux
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 2018

English post-punk act The Durutti Column’s seminal album from 1984, ‘Without Mercy’, gets a reissue by Factory Benelux. Seeking a new sound in the wake of the anticlimactic ‘Another Setting’ the band borrowed the narrative from Keats’ ‘La Belle Dame sans Merci’ at the instruction of label head Tony Wilson. Expanding their outfit, the band adopted a more orchestral feel on the ‘Without Mercy’ LP, employing the talents of cello player Caroline Lavelle and Tuxedomoon violinist Blaine L. Reininger. The result is a harmonious fusion of genres and temperaments, melding modern classical and chamber music with programmed drum machines and strong trumpet and cor anglais sections, carried out by Tim Kellett (Simply Red) and Maunagh Fleming respectively. An important milestone in the history of the band’s progression, ‘Without Mercy’ explores territory previously uncharted within Vini Reilly’s musical lexicon.

  1. 1 Without Mercy I The Durutti Column 0:30
  2. 2 Without Mercy II The Durutti Column 0:30
  3. 3 All That Love & Maths Can Do The Durutti Column 0:30
  4. 4 Duet The Durutti Column 0:30
  5. 5 Estoril A Noite The Durutti Column 0:30
  6. 6 Favourite Descending Intervals The Durutti Column 0:30
  7. 7 A Little Mercy The Durutti Column 0:30
  8. 8 Mercy Theme (live In London 1984) The Durutti Column 0:30
  9. 9 A Little Mercy (live In London 1984) The Durutti Column 0:30
  10. 10 Mercy Dance (live In London 1984) The Durutti Column 0:30

The Durutti Column

Factory Benelux


Vinyl Reissue

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.