Item added to your basket.

Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 2018
Gift This Product

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.

BASIC VOLUME is the long-awaited debut album from GAIKA, released by Warp. Following on from a series of highly acclaimed mixtapes that saw him grace the cover of The Wire, BASIC VOLUME is the most striking and clear viewpoint into his compellingly unique paradox of paranoid dancehall...

Landing with additional production from similarly forward-thinking contemporaries, GAIKA called on SOPHIE, Dutch E Germ, Dre Skull and DADRAS as well as previous collaborators including Jam City, Nick Leon and Frank Ocean’s Blonde and Endless collaborator Buddy Ross. Best described as "a sprawling yet cohesive album that devours genres and spits them out, tangled around personal tales of love, loss and rebellion" BASIC VOLUME unfolds over sixteen tracks that shape it as GAIKA's strongest musical statement yet.

A solid mixture of GAIKA’s distinct vocal style that wraps itself around some of the sharpest dancehall to U.S. trap and into hip-hop beats that are as sparse as they are sparring.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Basic Volume 3:26 GAIKA Buy
  2. 2 Hackers & Jackers 4:30 GAIKA Buy
  3. 3 Seven Churches For St Jude 5:43 GAIKA Buy
  4. 4 Ruby 2:05 GAIKA Buy
  5. 5 Born Thieves 4:33 GAIKA Buy
  6. 6 36 Oaths 2:06 GAIKA Buy
  7. 7 Black Empire (Killmonger Riddim) 2:40 GAIKA Buy
  8. 8 Grip 3:28 GAIKA Buy
  9. 9 Clouds, Chemists And The Angel Gabriel 1:21 GAIKA Buy
  10. 10 Immigrant Sons (Pesos & Gas) 4:20 GAIKA Buy
  11. 11 Close To The Root (feat. Bipolar Sunshine) 4:16 GAIKA Buy
  12. 12 Yard 4:41 GAIKA Buy
  13. 13 Crown & Key 5:11 GAIKA Buy
  14. 14 Warlord Shoes 4:01 GAIKA Buy
  15. 15 Spectacular Anthem 4:31 GAIKA Buy


View More


View More

Dub, Reggae and Dancehall

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.