Item added to your basket:

Gift This Product

Even in the rich and varied modern musical landscape the vibraphone doesn’t tend to get much of a look-in. However, composer and former Jan Jelinek collaborator Masayoshi Fujita is out to change all of that. Book Of Life is the final record in a trilogy of LPs that see the Japanese artist put the vibraphone front and centre. Aided by sweeping chamber strings and the occasional dash of woodwind, Fujita uses the ten tracks here to show the full range of what the vibraphone can do. At times he draws eerie ambient drones from the instrument (‘Harp’), while at others he hammers away in a manner that recalls the compositions of Steve Reich (‘Mountain Deer’). There are points when he even goes so far as to prepare it with kitchen foil or play it with a cello bow.

Read More
  1. 1 Snowy Night Tale 5:34 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  2. 2 Fog 4:24 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  3. 3 It's Magical 4:24 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  4. 4 Old Automation 5:53 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  5. 5 Book of Life 4:34 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  6. 6 Harp 6:25 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  7. 7 Mountain Deer 4:32 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  8. 8 Sadness 4:42 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  9. 9 Misty Avalanche 4:03 Masayoshi Fujita Buy
  10. 10 Cloud of Light 5:09 Masayoshi Fujita Buy

Masayoshi Fujita

Erased Tapes

View More: Erased Tapes

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More: Ambient and Modern Classical

Limited Editions

View More: Limited Editions
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.