Item added to your cart.

Rubbed Out
Alexis Taylor
Rubbed Out
Treader Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 2018
Gift This Product

Alexis Taylor’s 2008 debut solo LP gets reissued on vinyl for the first time by Treader Recordings. Rubbed Out sees the Hot Chip frontman finding space and solace in working alone, a trend that has continued throughout his solo releases like Piano and Beautiful Thing. These spare, slightly lo-fi instrumentals often only feature a keyboard, guitar or synthesiser, sometimes alongside Taylor’s wonderful tenor. His love of Arthur Russell comes through on the likes of ‘I Thought This Was Ours’ and ‘Plastic Man’, while ‘Girl’ is a nice ESG tribute. ‘Coming Up’, a cover of Paul McCartney’s classic tune, ends up sounding more like Lennon.

  1. 1 Fireworks Alexis Taylor 0:48
  2. 2 Plastic Man Alexis Taylor 1:13
  3. 3 Coming Up Alexis Taylor 1:04
  4. 4 Baby Alexis Taylor  
  5. 5 Girl Alexis Taylor 0:47
  6. 6 I Thought This Was Ours Alexis Taylor 1:13
  7. 7 I'm Not A Robber Alexis Taylor 0:46
  8. 8 Collector's Item Alexis Taylor  
  9. 9 What Good Is Love? Alexis Taylor  
  10. 10 Musical Food Alexis Taylor  
  11. 11 O Lord Alexis Taylor  
  12. 12 I Love My Home Alexis Taylor  
  13. 13 I'm Juan Alexis Taylor  
  14. 14 Ruffles Alexis Taylor  
  15. 15 The Big Drums Of Chwodes Alexis Taylor  

Alexis Taylor

Treader Recordings



Vinyl Reissue

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.