Item added to your basket.

Bird Dog Dante
John Parish
Bird Dog Dante
Thrill Jockey
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 2018
  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    Out of stock
    • Pressed on virgin vinyl
    • Packaged in an uncoated stock jacket with an artworked inner sleeve featuring spot metallic ink
    • Includes free digital download coupon

Gift This Product

Despite having been busy running PJ Harvey’s backing band and producing recent records for This Is The Kit, Nadine Khouri and Aldous Harding, John Parish has still found time to get together a record of his own. Bird Dog Dante is a lovely collection that switches up its style at the halfway point. Parish’s knack for folksy rock ditties ala Eels proves in good nick on the likes of ‘Type 1’, ‘Rachel’ and ‘Sorry For Your Loss’, the latter of which is a duet with his old mate Harvey. However, on the B-side he eschews these more linear songs for spare, impressionistic ambiences. Utilising synthesisers, piano, percussion and pockets of noise, the effect is akin to Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds’ Skeleton Tree with the vocals stripped out. Parish reconciles both sides of his sound on closer ‘The First Star’.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Add To The List John Parish 3:38 Buy
  2. 2 Sorry For Your Loss John Parish 3:25 Buy
  3. 3 The March John Parish 3:38 Buy
  4. 4 Let's Go John Parish 2:57 Buy
  5. 5 Type 1 John Parish 2:05 Buy
  6. 6 Rachel John Parish 3:25 Buy
  7. 7 Buffalo John Parish 3:04 Buy
  8. 8 08 Kireru John Parish 5:01 Buy
  9. 9 Le Passé Devant Nous John Parish 2:31 Buy
  10. 10 Carver's House John Parish 2:28 Buy
  11. 11 The First Star John Parish 2:35 Buy

John Parish

Thrill Jockey

Alternative and Indie

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.