Item added to your basket:

Listen All Around: The Golden Age of Central and East African Music
Hugh Tracey
Listen All Around: The Golden Age of Central and East African Music
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 2018
Gift This Product

Devout musicologist and field recording obsessive Hugh Tracey sees a posthumous tribute to his work via a CD/book package from Dust-To-Digital. On our radar since introducing Lonnie Holley to the world, DTD decide to share a collection of Tracey’s field recordings from 1950-1958 on ‘Listen All Around’. Taken across a range of countries in Central and East Africa, these recordings tell the tale of midcentury folk song from Kenya to Tanzania and back again. Comes with 84 page hardcover book detailing the traditions and Tracey’s life.

Read More
  1. 1 Mamboleyo (Affairs of Today) 2:48 Kalenga Antonance Buy
  2. 2 Mamwana Kufika Munda (My Love Is Upset) 2:46 Ilunga Patrice, Misomba Victor and Friends Buy
  3. 3 Siwezi Kuiacha Rumba (I Cannot Give Up Rumba) 2:47 Vijana wa Mbeya with Jim D. Gondwe Buy
  4. 4 Stanleyville Putulú (Stanleyville Is Dusty) 3:02 Henri Bembele and Orchestra Tinapa Buy
  5. 5 Kwa Jinsi Ninavyokupenda (How I Love You) 2:34 Dar es Salaam Jazz Band Buy
  6. 6 Pini Ochama (I Was Without Hope) 2:47 Lang Obiero Buy
  7. 7 Soko Olingi Na-Boma (If You Want to Kill Me) 3:00 Joseph Eluka and Soldiers Buy
  8. 8 Caroline Zibula Bango 2:53 Yemba Jean Batiste and Soldiers Buy
  9. 9 Tála Bango (Watch Them) 2:53 Société Edemi de Stanleyville Buy
  10. 10 Gitari na Congo (Guitar of the Congo) 2:45 Bakia Pierre Buy
Show All 47 Tracks



View More: World
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.