Item added to your basket.

Presents Black Light District  'A Thousand Lights In A Darkened Room'
Presents Black Light District 'A Thousand Lights In A Darkened Room'
Dais Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 2018
Gift This Product

Coil's mid 90's excursion into the darker/deeper side of their machines gets an essential reissue on Dais, arriving alongside the Black Light District sister project Coil vs ELpH and following on the mind-numbingly brilliant Time Machines reissue from 2017.

As this is Coil its pretty clear from the off that the group were very much deeply engrained into taking some very heavy, mind-expanding ahem 'stuff' during the recording of Black Light District. Yet the machines truly did the talking here as Dais explains:

"During the transitional period in which Coil’s primary leadership, Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson and John Balance, reorganized their creative direction by taking on new membership in the group through their inclusion of Drew McDowall, Coil took a drastic turn towards the metaphysical unknown.Employing the subtle handiwork of Coil’s“real life”members, as well as the cleverlyguised aliases and spiritual collaborators, the band chose to filter their identity through a the nome de guerre, Black Light District,setting the precedent of Coil’s future exploration of other worldy influence"

The resulting album is one of the lesser knowns, but strikingly most outward gazing entries within the Coil catalogue. Somewhere between the sort of dread dub that would characterise the sound of Blackest Ever Black some 20 years later on and an icy, isolationist assault akin to the most stripped back moments of Pan Sonic or Autechre. Incredible music and very much worthy of your time.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Unprepared Piano Coil 1:43 Buy
  2. 2 Red Skeletons Coil 7:33 Buy
  3. 3 Die Wolfe Kommen Zuruck Coil 10:25
  4. 4 Refusal of Leave to Land Coil 7:27 Buy
  5. 5 Stoned Circular I Coil 4:29 Buy
  6. 6 Stoned Circular II Coil 6:43 Buy
  7. 7 Green Water Coil 5:25 Buy
  8. 8 Cold Dream of an Earth Star Coil 9:00 Buy
  9. 9 Blue Rats Coil 3:10 Buy
  10. 10 Scratches and Dust Coil 0:52 Buy
  11. 11 London's Lost Rivers Coil 7:42 Buy
  12. 12 Chalice Coil 8:18 Buy


Dais Records

Experimental and Noise

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.