Item added to your cart.

David Stubbs
Mars by 1980: The Story of Electronic Music
Faber & Faber
Release Date
August 2, 2018

Acclaimed writer David Stubbs follows up his Future Days: Krautrock and the Building of Modern Germany book with the highly anticipated history of electronic music as we know it, Mars by 1980. Telling the story from Stevie Wonder, Giorgio Moroder through Depeche Mode, the Pet Shop Boys and Laurie Anderson and arriving right up to the present day's purveyors of underground electronics.

"Electronic music is now ubiquitous, from mainstream pop hits to the furthest reaches of the avant-garde. The future, a long time coming, finally arrived. But how did we get here?

In Mars by 1980, David Stubbs charts the evolution of electronic music. It is a tale of mavericks and future dreamers overcoming Luddite resistance, malfunctioning devices and sonic mayhem. Its beginnings are in the world of avant-classical composition, but the book also encompasses the cosmic funk of Stevie Wonder, Giorgio Moroder and unforgettable eighties electronic pop from the likes of Depeche Mode, the Pet Shop Boys and Laurie Anderson, right up to the present day innovators on the underground scene."

David Stubbs


View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences