Item added to your basket:

Various Artists
Ghost Stories for Christmas: The Definitive Collection
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 2012
Gift This Product

Broadcast in the dying hours of Christmas Eve, 'A Ghost Story for Christmas' was a much-loved fixture in the BBC's seasonal schedule during the 1970s. Terrified viewers awaited each sinister instalment with excitement and its enduring appeal gave rise to a revival in the 2000s, when three more episodes were produced.

Amongst the 12 films in the collection are nine adaptations of tales by MR James - the acknowledged master of the modern English ghost story - including Jonathan Miller's classic 'Whistle and I'll Come to You' and Lawrence Gordon Clark's 'A Warning to the Curious'. Other films include Clark's adaptation of Charles Dickens' 'The Signalman' and two original stories: 'Stigma' and 'The Ice House'.

These adaptations are accompanied by a selection of special features, including three previously unreleased episodes of the BBC's 'Ghost Stories for Christmas with Christopher Lee' series, and newly filmed introductions with director Lawrence Gordon Clarke.

Box set contents:

Disc One

  • Whistle And I'll Come To You (1968 & 2010 versions)
  • Jonathan Miller and Christopher Frayling discuss the 1968 version (2012, 3 mins)
  • Introduction to the 1968 version by horror writer Ramsey Campbell (2001, 16 mins)
  • MR James' original story read by Neal Brand (2001, 42 mins)
  • Ramsey Campbell reads his own MR James inspired story, 'The Guide' (2001, 27 mins)

  • Disc Two
  • The Stalls of Barchester (1971) and A Warning to the Curious (1972)

  • Disc Three
  • Lost Hearts (1973), The Treasure of Abbot Thomas (1974) and The Ash Tree (1975)
  • Filmed introductions with director Lawrence Gordon Clark (2012)

  • Disc Four
  • The Signalman (1976), Stigma (1977) and The Ice House (1978)
  • Filmed introductions to The Signalman and Stigma with director Lawrence Gordon Clark (2012)

  • Disc Five
  • A View From a Hill (2005) and Number 13 (2006)
  • 'Ghost Stories for Christmas with Christopher Lee' - 'Number 13 by MR James' (Eleanor Yule, 2000, 30 minutes)

  • Product details:

    UK / 1968-2010 / black & white and colour / English language, with optional hard-of-hearing subtitles / 477 minutes + extras / 5 x DVD9 / various original aspect ratios / Dolby Digital mono audio (320kbps)

    Read More
    --:-- --:--

    This store uses cookies to improve your shopping experience. By using the site you agree to the use of cookies. Find out more.

    Accept and Close