Item added to your cart.

Kevin Richard Martin
Return to Solaris
Phantom Limb
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 25, 2021
  • Vinyl 2×LP, Limited Coloured

    Pre-order $26.99

    Red coloured vinyl

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Bleep exclusive
    • Limited to 300

    Available: June 25, 2021

    Instant WAV / FLAC download of track: In Love With A Ghost.

    Full release delivered on release date.

Kevin Richard Martin, perhaps best known for his work as The Bug and as a founding member of King Midas Sound, presents a breathtaking reinterpretation of Andrei Tarkovsky’s seminal 1972 movie Solaris, via Phantom Limb records.

In the summer of 2020, Martin was invited to the Vooruit Arts Centre in the city of Ghent with an open invitation to compose a fresh soundtrack for a film of his choosing. Solaris was a “natural choice” for Martin, having long taken inspiration from Tarkovsky’s compelling Soviet-era works. Emerging with his rendition entitled Return to Solaris, Martin uses the non-restrictive cinematic context to revive his sprawling, celebrated past in the various industrial, noise and dub realms to devastating effect.

'In Love With A Ghost’ acts as a suitable primer for the full-length album. Lulling us in with monolithic, scorched post-rave pads, the palette gradually etches towards a darker monochrome - distant industrial chimes underscored with a fierce droning intensity.

In Martin’s words, he was naturally drawn to Solaris by its "narrative struggle between organic, pastoral memories of a lost past, and the harsh, dystopian realities of a futuristic hell" - a balance which is gloriously realised in this score.

Solaris Probe Cassette

Bleep Exclusive Cassette
Limited to 100

These are 4 tracks written in the original album sessions (and performed along with the screening) but not part of the final record. Each pertains to a specific scene / movement in the movie, and are only available on cassette.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Opening Credits (Theme for Kris) 5:44
  2. 2 Solaris 3:42
  3. 3 Concrete Tunnels 5:11
  4. 4 Hari 8:43
  5. 5 Together Again 4:51
  6. 6 In Love With A Ghost 6:47 Buy

    In Love With A Ghost

  7. 7 Weightlessness 5:08
  8. 8 Resurrection 4:26
  9. 9 Wife Or Mother 6:13
  10. 10 Rejection of Earth 6:25

Vinyl Track List

  1. Opening Credits (Theme for Kris)
  2. Solaris
  3. Concrete Tunnels
  4. Hari
  5. Together Again
  6. In Love With A Ghost
  7. Weightlessness
  8. Resurrection
  9. Wife Or Mother
  10. Rejection of Earth

Kevin Richard Martin

Phantom Limb

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences